MTHFR (Methylenetetrahydrofolate reductase) User Group
Newbie Here
About This Group:

This Group was created for anyone wishing to learn, chat or share information relating to MTHFR. Many woman have suffered Miscarriage(s) and have no idea why. For some of us, a genetic mutation called MTHFR is the reason. MTHFR (or 5,10-methylenetetrahydrofolate reductase NADPH) is a genetic mutation that has 24 known variants that affects the ability to absorb Folic Acid and can cause more severe problems in health and also in pregnancy. There is much debate and dispute within the medical community regarding MTHFR and it's relationship to pregnancy loss or Recurrent Pregnancy Loss (RPL). In all the confusion, there are many ideas and treatments along with schools of thought on how to treat or deal with MTHFR.

Founded by Dragon1973 on October 23, 2010
68 members
Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Newbie Here

Hello Everyone!
I am very happy to have found this forum.  I have had a lifetime of weird syndromes and disorders.  My husband jokingly refers to my condition as the 2% Syndrome, because it seemed like everytime I was diagnosed with something new the Dr. would say that only 2% (or 5%, or 10%) of the population have it.  I have been telling my husband for years that they have to all be related.  Nobody gets several rare conditions independently.  It just doesn't happen.  But, no Dr. I've seen has ever been able to put the pieces together.  

In 2005, I was diagnosed with Anti-phospholipid Syndrome.  My Doc suspected it because of a previous unexplained miscarriage.  My Dr. put me on aspirin therapy.  However, he didn't know that you shouldn't give asthmatics aspirin.  I ended up in the hospital with only 73% of my oxygen intake making it into my veins.  IF YOU ARE ASTHMATIC, ASPIRIN CAN BE DEADLY.  Okay, moving on.  I ended up moving to another Dr. because my original said that he didn't know enough about it to help me.  I appreciated that.