Maternal & Child Community
chromosome 20 (trisomy)
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

chromosome 20 (trisomy)

Hi, I don't know where to find this to post but I need your help, if you know about the chromosome 20 Trisomy, it is my first time now since I had the 2nd miscarriages in a row from Jan. to May 2007 at 9 weeks, the fetus was 6 weeks. The miscarriages were the same that happened the second time we found from the results on the tissue last week, I have copy and paste from the dr. email:  

"An abnormal female chromosome complement with an additional chromosome 20 (trisomy 20) was observed."

"Autosomal trisomy is the most common abnormal finding in products of conception and may be associated with an increased risk for a viable trisomy in future pregnancies. Trisomy 20 comprises approximately 3.5% of the autosomal trisomies seen in abortuses. Genetic counseling is recommended."

Humans are composed of 23 pairs of chromosomes - 46 total - which includes 22 pairs of autosomal chromosomes (numbered 1-22) and 1 pair of sex chromosomes. The baby that miscarried was a girl who, instead of having only 2 chromosomes for number 20 had 3 (trisomy). Down's Syndrome is trisomy 21 so this wasn't the same thing.