Maternal & Child Community
Breastfeeding and Periods
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Breastfeeding and Periods

I quit breastfeeding my then almost 8 month old son at the end of March.  I had been weaning him since he was 6 months old.  I haven't breastfed him at all since March.  I still haven't gotten my period back yet. I was just wondering if this is normal or what happend for other people.
Related Discussions
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
171768_tn?1324233699
took me 4 weeks to get my first after weaning, then another 8 weeks to get my second. everyone is different though.
Blank
with everyone it could be different. however, my cousin had the same issue, and she was actually pregnant. i would just see the dr. for assurement.
Blank
Got a ? in regards to breastfeeding!!! I stop breastfeeding 2 months ago, I had a weird period a month ago (which was my first period since I gave birth or even b4 i got pregnant) and for me before I was pregnant my periods where normal (28 day cycle). Here it is 30 days later and i am never late except when i got pregnant or found out I was with my daughter. And all day today and a little bit yesturday Ive been feeling nauseaed, and tired. Could it be possible that im pregnant, again? (it is possible me & my hubby could have conceived when I would have been ovualting.) But do period cycles go back to normal right after you have your first period after stopping breastfeeding??? anyones advise would be so helpful!!! and no i havent taken a pt yet.  
Blank