Maternal & Child Community
HCG level rising after miscarriage
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

HCG level rising after miscarriage

I had a miscarriage and ended bleeding on August 12th (almost 4 weeks ago). My HCG levels had fallen to about 28 and this week  they are up to 212 again. What does this mean? I can't talk to my Doc. because of the holiday weekend and I am starting to worry. Please help.
Related Discussions
26 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I have never had a miscarriage, but you can always search the internet for miscarriage and HCG levels until you can talk to your doctor.  How do you know your HCG levels are up without talking to your doctor?
Blank
I'm no expert but I have had three m/c in the past two years, and it sounds to me like you might have the "disappearing twin" syndrome (i.e. there were two fetuses, one miscarried, and the other is still there). I don't know if there could be part of the placenta still manufacturing HCG even without a baby. You should really get an ultrasound asap, especially if you still have pregnancy symptoms. Good luck! Keep us posted!
Blank
I have been going to the Doctor every 2 weeks or so to make sure my hcg levels are going back down. This time the test said they were 212.
Blank
any suggestions made about possible causes at this point will be pure speculation, You got good advice, from the postings above, I would say you should make an appointment with your Doctor see him have more tests and ultrasound as decieded there by you and the Doc, then take it from there
Blank