Maternal & Child Community
How long did you stay in the hospital after delivery?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

How long did you stay in the hospital after delivery?

I was wondering how long you ladies stayed in the hospital after a vaginal delivery or a c-section? Was your baby in your room at all times? If you did stay longer than normal, did the baby stay too?
After touring the hospital, I was told that I could have my baby in my room the whole time I'm there. But I forgot to ask that does the baby ever get released before the mom...Excuse my ignorance...It's my first time having a baby and I don't have my family closeby...
Related Discussions
46 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I've never heard of the baby being released before the mother (unless there is a life/death situation where the mother needs some surgery) even then I'm not too sure.  I believe it's 48 hours after vaginal and 72 hours after C-section.  You could have your baby in the room with you the whole time you're there but some prefer to get some rest.   Good luck.
Blank
308074_tn?1289690946
I think it depends on where you are.  In the hospital I was at, I got to go home the next day, after the time of delievery.  They need to be there 24 hours because there is a test they do when the baby is 24 hrs. old.  I got a choice to have the baby in the room with me, or let it go to the nursery.  I never had a c-section so I dont really know about that.  They did mention while I was on the tour that you had to stay at least 2 days.  Where do you live?  I live in Michigan.  I went to gerber memorial (I had gerber babies :) ).  Good luck, and I hope everything goes okay for you.
Blank
222234_tn?1216343635