Maternal & Child Community
Marijuana experts - Anyone know the answer?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Marijuana experts - Anyone know the answer?

If a mother smokes Marijuana during her first trimester, will the baby's stool test positive for the substance at birth?  
Related Discussions
18 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
172023_tn?1334675884
No.  It depends on how heavy the usage is, but usually stools are not positive unless the mother used within the previous 2-3 weeks.

If she is only a rare, occasional user, the stool *may* not be positive at all.

(I'm not a marijuana expert, but I've sent many a baby poo for substance use)
Blank
LOL!  I was going to title the thread "Peek - or other Marijuana experts" but I figured that might start rumors.  =)

My SIL's brothers girlfriend had her baby boy 4 weeks ago, he was born at 28 weeks gestation.  They told her that the baby's stool tested positive for marijuana and traces of cocaine.  She told the doctors that the only time she smoked marijuana was in her first trimester, but she said she did not know she was pregnant.  She claims the cocaine traces came from a prescribed pain pill.  I am not a chemist so I do not know if that is possible or not.

Social servies are involved and now want to take the baby after he is healthy enough to leave the hospital.  If what she she's saying is true, then I see no reason for the hospital to involve social services.  

I am concerned that they have been giving her breastmilk to the baby... she is known to "do" drugs, so why would they give the milk to the baby?  I'm wondering if they test the milk before giving it to the baby.  

Blank