Maternal & Child Community
Nails not growing much all of a sudden
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Nails not growing much all of a sudden

I used to have to cut my 4.5yr old's nails every week, without fail. All of a sudden, they dont seem to be growing much. I remember reading that it might be due to some deficiencies. I asked him if he has been biting them and he says he has not. Although I have noticed that he seems to put his fingers in his mouth- perhaps its the saliva? Does anyone have any experience on this? And if so, could you please let me know what I can do. Thanks!
Related Discussions
2 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I'm not a doctor, but I wouldn't worry about the nails not growing as fast. All of my kids nails grew fast at first too, but the older they get, the less I need to cut them. Could be , and just guessing here, that a babies nails are thiner then a childs, maybe they are getting thicker instead of longer. Also, as a small child, the nails might not get worn down but when they get bigger and play with thier hands more, the nails could just be wearing down on thier own. Example, hubby nails are thick (lucky!!!) and healthy, but sense he works with his hands, they get worn down and he doesn't have to cut them that often.
I hope this helps. And please remeber, I'm not a doctor and these are just my guesses on this subject. Take care, Rhealene
Blank