Maternal & Child Community
Potty training a boy?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Potty training a boy?

I'm sure this question has been asked a million and one times but here I go again.  How the heck do you potty train a boy?  We purchased a potty and just waiting for it to arrive but I googled it and it said to start with the boy sitting to urinate first.  How do I know Jayden will be interested in it and is ready?  HELP!!!
Related Discussions
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
688845_tn?1325185836
Well I don't have any children yet but I have a lot of experience with potty training. This is what I would do: When you or Richie are in the bathroom, take off his diaper and place Jayden on his potty and let him sit there for a few minutes. You will immediately know if he is not ready or interested. It's all about repetition so you just have to keep trying. Take his diaper off when he sits on the potty and put it back on when he is "done." Sooner or later when he is ready he will go. This is a hard thing to push a child to do and they really will do it when they're ready. Also, praise is huge for a child learning to potty training. He will need lot's of praise = )
Good Luck! It has been my experience that boy's take a lot longer than girl's for some reason.
Blank