Maternal & Child Community
Pregnancy with stage 1 precancerous cells
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Pregnancy with stage 1 precancerous cells

Someone please help me.  I am six weeks pregnant and found out that I have precancerous cells on my cervix.  The doctor told me they are stage 1.  I keep reading all these articles that say I may have to abort and have my cervix treated.  I have had abnormal papsmears for the last 7 years; I am so worried I will lose my child or if I just keep with my pregnancy am I going to develop cancer?
Related Discussions
2 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Hi. I'm no expert but, I had abnormal paps all throughout my pregnancy.  They did what is called a colposcopy which is basically using a larger spectrum to get a better view of my cervix.  They sprayed a vinigar solution on your cervix and use a special microscope to view just how bad that abnormal area is.  Maybe you've already had this done.  I had it done at 16 weeks.  Pregnancy, weakends your immune system.  So it will get worse, before it get's better.  Your body is busy protecting your baby and therefore, leaves you less able to fight off infections and sickness. Which is also another reason why they wait for after your pregnant to check you out again.
They wont touch you after that.  Meaning, any good doctor wont risk a biopsy while your pregnant.
I'm not sure what stage 1 means but, in my case, I had a pretty bad case of precancerous cells.  She told me that there was nothing i could do until the baby was born.  After my dauther was born and I had healed, they did a biopsy and found that they needed to do a LEEP procedure. Which is basically remove the abnormal pieces of your cervix.