Maternal & Child Community
baby bumper safe??
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

baby bumper safe??

well we just got back from our baby beginnings class and learned stuff-this is my first child -so of course i want to do what i can-i have lots of knowledge but htere are still some stuff i dont know-well yesterday was my surprise baby shower and i got lots of good stuff-i got this winnie the pooh set and bumper was included for the crib-the nurse that was teaching the class said they are not safe and can cause SIDS-she said all that should be in there is the baby and light blanket-what do you think?? what would u recomended-
Related Discussions
6 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
175662_tn?1282217256
I didn't use the bumpers at all with either of my girls because of those reasons.  It's just a piece of "prettiness" that really isn't need, especially with newborns.  And as long as you have an newer crib the slats aren't an issue for getting stuck (except for legs when they get older and are trying to climb out! lol)  Be on the safe side, don't use the bumper, find a home for it or toss it away.  Even if it is part of a set, it is only for design not practicality or safety.
Blank
thank you-yeah we plan to use bassinet at first anyway
Blank
I didn't use bumpers with either of my DDs. I bought them but couldn't bring myself to use them because I felt to guilty knowing of the SIDS risk. Please don't put any light blankets in your baby's crib either. No stuffed animals, blankets, pillows or bumpers. A sleepsack is perfect.
Blank
134578_tn?1404951303