Maternal & Child Community
depo and trying to concieve(conceive) 5months since my last shot
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

depo and trying to concieve(conceive) 5months since my last shot

i had my last depo shot in october and i am badly wanting to become pregnant as soon as possible how long will this take and with me having irregular bleeding as well as has painful cramps when i would be bleeding will i even be able to become pregnant?
Related Discussions
11 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I have heard that after coming off the Depo is usually takes over a year to become preganat. Thedepo is a nasty little med!! i am a GYN nurse and some of our Dr. wont even use it unless women are planning on not having any more children! But, I'm sure there are women out there who have gotten pregnany in less than a year! Just do alot of BD'ing!
Blank
A good friend of mine was on depo a couple of years ago and came off, because she too wanted to become pregnant. For 2 years her periods were horribly irregular, to the point where she would go awhile before having one. Finally, beyond the 2 year mark of coming off depo she got pregnant.

I had taken depo after my first because I was bf'ing. When i quit bf'ing I got back on the pill and right away my periods regulated (while on depo I had 1 period that lasted for 5 weeks!). If you have normal cycles off birth control, maybe an option would be to start birth control pills for a couple of months then stop. Maybe that could help to kind of regulate things, so when you stopped you would have a better way to gauge yourself as far as cycle, ovulation, etc.?