Maternal & Child Community
extremely large uterus
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

extremely large uterus

I am a student nurse.  I need to find out this information.  I have a patient that was infertile for many years.  She has finally had a baby after several attempts.  She is 41 years old having her first child. When the doctors did her Csection, her uterus was extremely large, 5 times larger than normal. She had massive blood loss. They say it is a very rare condition.  Her uterus is 10 cm thicker than normal.  Please, if anyone can help me with any information on this, it would be greatly appreciated.  I need to get the information for my instructor, she says she has not seen something like this either. It is not very common. Thank you very much anyone pleasssssssssssse lol Becki
Related Discussions
7 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
i have nothing better to do this morning so i looked up this enlarged uterus thing and i found a site FULL of women that have had or are having hysterectomies because of an enlarged uterus. it seems the concensous (sorry bad sp) was that it is most likely a problem called andomyosis. which was stated that it is a lot like endometriosis but it is contained within the walls of the uterus instead of around the tubes and overies.
they said it could also be caused by fibroids.

hope you find the answers you are looking for

~nanci
Blank
I  too would like more information.  I was given the same diagnosis. I went in for a post partum ck-up after the birth of my 3rd son and was scheduled for an ultra sound for further evaluation and was told I have a large uterus.