Maternal & Child Community
hair washing
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

hair washing

Good morning ladies, Is it true that you can not wash your hair for weeks after giving birth or is this just an old wives tale?
Related Discussions
9 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Thats completly FALSE!! I am a postpartum/gyn nurse and they always take showers and wash there hair before they ever even go home!!
Blank
where did this even come from?  I have heard this so many times.
Blank
Most likely an old wives tale. I was in the shower six hours after my daughter was born. they did say to shower instead of taking a bath right away, due to water getting up there.
Blank
thank you.  when I heard this I was like how am I supposed to go weeks without washing my hair thats kind of nasty.  While we are on the subject when can I safely wash my babies hair after she is born?
Blank
They will bathe your baby after she is born at the hospital. they say its ok to give your baby a sponge bath, but to wait to put her in her baby bath tub till after the umbelical cord stump dries up and falls off. this is usually about a week or two after birth. Until  that time, wetting her hair with a wet wash cloth should be sufficient, newborns dont tend to be extremely messy, unless they get spit up on their hair.
Blank
93532_tn?1349374050
After I delivered and things settled, I was in the shower with the help of my nurse, no more than 2 hours after delivery. I hate those old stupid wives tales, I wish they would go away once and for all ; )

Andi
Blank