Maternal Expert Forum
Asthmatic Bronchitus(bronchitis)/Walking Pneumonia
About This Forum:

Patient medical question and answer from The Maternal and Child Health Forum. Health topic area and articles about newborn care

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Asthmatic Bronchitus(bronchitis)/Walking Pneumonia

Posted By  HFHS.RN-AM on November 09, 1998 at 05:58:39:

In Reply to: Re: Re: Asthmatic Bronchitus (bronchitis)/Walking Pneumonia posted by HFHS.RN-AM on November 08, 1998 at 20:55:12:

: Having been born prematurely with severe lung problems, I have been asthmatic for over 30 years, with constant bronchitis and pnuemonia (pneumonia) as a child.  I am an attorney now, but I studied medicine related topics for years (I am NOT a doctor), in hopes of solving my problems. This is a VERY complicated area that is best understood with personal experience, I think!  So, here's what I would recommend, I hope this helps:  
  : First, avoid prednisone unless your daughter is near death from asthma.  It has tremendous side effects both short and long term and is widely overprescribed because it is a "cure all" for the symptoms, although it does not address the underlying problem.  If she does have to take it, DON'T get a shot, get tablets, and take only the MINIMUM dosage, tapering off over about a week after the main treatment.  Even a little bit of prednisone goes a long way toward helping, so don't be fooled by the massive doses they want to give your daughter.
  : Second, occasional antibiotic treatments can be very helpful, especially Doxycycline, which has been shown to reduce lung inflamation (inflammation) as well as treating the underlying infection.  Watch out for pencillin related products, they could make her asthma worse even if she doesn't have a dramatic allergic reaction.