Member Comments are provided by individuals and reflect their personal opinions only. Under NO circumstances should you act on any advice or opinion posted in this forum.  ALWAYS check with your personal physician before taking any action regarding your health! MedHelp International and our partners, sponsors and affiliates have no obligation to monitor any comments posted on this site, or the content and/or accuracy of such exchanges. MedHelp International does not endorse the views of any user.
Mental Health  (Expert Forum)
 | 
Is 'Inosert' a legitimate brand of sertraline (zoloft)?
Answered by
Roger Gould, M.D. - Mental Health, Wellness
Questions posted in the Mental Health forum are being answered by Dr. Roger L. Gould, author of the Mastering Stress and Depression program and affiliated with the UCLA. Department of Psychiatry. Topics covered include anger, attention deficit disorder (ADD) , bipolar disorder , dementia , electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) , learning disabilities, memory, obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) , panic , personality disorders, phobias , post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) , schizophrenia , stress , transitions, and work problems.

Is 'Inosert' a legitimate brand of sertraline (zoloft)?

by terranova, Nov 14, 2006 12:00AM
After doing a Google search, I was able to confirm that Inosert is one company's brand name for generic Zoloft (sertraline). However, the search results were rather small. Since I couldn't find very many websites referencing or describing Inosert, I am somewhat skeptical about it.

Basically, my question is: "Is Inosert a safe and valid chemical equivalent to Zoloft?"

Also, assuming it is: "Aside from the considerations always present when taking medicines (the need to consult a competent doctor and to purchase the medicines from a trustworthy pharmacy), is there any reason I should be wary about taking this particular brand of sertraline?"

I suffer from depression and mild OCD. Sertraline will be the first anti-depressant I've ever taken. Before I take it, I just want the added comfort of knowing that Inosert isn't a fraud.

Thank you!

by Roger Gould, M.D., Nov 14, 2006 12:00AM
I am sorry, I don't know if it is a fraud or not, no first hand information, but if it is the generic, and its been okayed by the government to be sold by legitimate pharmacies, its probably exactly the same as the brand name equivalent.
Member Comments (4)

by JeffG10, Nov 14, 2006 12:00AM
if you got it from your pharmacy i wouldn't worry about it. They usually don't just throw anything in there

by terranova, Nov 15, 2006 12:00AM
I bought it from an online pharmacy (pharmacyave.com).

by imcrazy2, Nov 15, 2006 12:00AM
To: terranova
Why on earth are you not getting the medicine from your local pharmacy???  I don't mean to scare you, it very well may be legit, but you have no way of knowing what you are getting online.  There is no recourse for overseas sellers of lord-knows-what from heaven-knows-where.  I barely trust generic meds from my pharmacy manufactured in the US.  (Not to say you shouldn't--I'm just over-cautious.).....BUT, I would NEVER order from an online pharmacy!!!!!!!!!
RSS Expert Activity
Prevention Gains Momentum: Your Gui... 
Nov 29 by Lee Kirksey, MD
What You Don't Know About Breathing...
Nov 24 by Steven Y Park, MD
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 by Thomas Dock, Vet. Technician