Muscular Dystrophy Community
Arm Pain and Loss of Hand Control?
About This Community:

Muscular Dystrophy (MD) refers to a group of more than 30 inherited diseases that cause muscle weakness and muscle loss and eventually cause you to lose the ability to walk. Discuss topics including Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD), other types of MD, symptoms and ways to improve quality of life.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Arm Pain and Loss of Hand Control?

Hi, I'm only 19 years old but I have noticed that I have shooting pains up and down my forearms as well as an inability to hold objects at certain times of the day… it doesn’t happen all the time so I’ve mostly just shrugged it off but it’s becoming a real problem for me, I ballroom dance and do stunts that require me to be able to hold myself in the arms of my partner as he spins me in the air, and if I can’t do that I could seriously injure either him or myself. I do a lot with my hands. I’m also a writer, I want to be a novelist someday and perhaps go to school for it, but I noticed in my last year of high school my arms would hurt really bad after I wrote for any longer than a half hour. It would get so bad that I wouldn’t be able to even move my hand for a good five or ten minutes. I also am an artist, I love to draw and am very good at it, my art teachers said they couldn’t teach me anything. I did sprain my wrist as a little kid, when I was in cheerleading I was a back spotter and I caught my flyer as she fell out of one of our more difficult stunts, we both landed on the ground and she landed on my hand. It was black and blue and I couldn’t use it for about a month. I also did gymnastics and capoeira (Brazilian martial arts), though I was never injured in either of those. My mother insists I have Carpal Tunnel Syndrome but we haven’t been able to get it checked, and I refuse to believe someone as young as me can develop something like that. Is there anyone out there who can help me? I