Neurology Community
9 Year old with TM NMO or ?
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

9 Year old with TM NMO or ?

Hi - I am new and this is my first time posting, actually on any forum but I am at wits end.  I have a beautiful 9 year old daughter whose life has changed drastically at the first for this year.  Prior to she was on an ice hockey team my husband coaches, did karate, cheer, rode her quad through the farm and played hard with her 15 year old brother.  Rough and tough under the frilly skirt kind of kid.  New Years eve she got sick and her life changed.  It started as a fever I took her to dr. few days later and they gave her tamiflu.  On Monday 1/6 her cough was more wet so I took her back, but no fever, etc..  Chest xray and bloodwork showed walking pneumonia in left lunch and IGG of 5073 (from what I understand this is extremely high)  Zpack and home - When she finished this I sent her to school for 3 days.  She had no cough or other symptoms just complaining of headache, sore legs and so very tired.  On the 3rd day I brought her for recheck and she was admitted for the walking pneumonia.  Zithro and rosefen were given IV along with prednisone and 2 days later she was sent home with oral meds to finish.  A week later - the day after she finished her meds (which there was no improvement in her energy, and she really was not coughing, congested, etc that I saw) she had a fast and hard onset of severe lower right back pain.  I thought it may be a uti or kidney from all the meds (shes 9 and private) so gave her cranberry juice for a day, rested her and warm bath.  Pain was worse.  We packed our bags and went back to dr. who admitted us with