Neurology Expert Forum
CSF - 85% Lymphs
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Fibromyalgia, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

CSF - 85% Lymphs

I had a lumbar puncture performed after a sudden and severe headache which was my first at 46.  The csf revealed 85% lymphs and i am an oncology nurse and this sounds alarmingly elevated to me.  I had no infection to my knowledge and my neurosurgeon made no reference to this lab result.  Can you give me the normals and what you feel could contribute to this.....thank you so much for your commitment to your field.  Incidentally i was dx'd with a SAH and wonder if the high number of lymphs could represent a traumatic tap vs. a true SAH.  Again, thank you for your time and response.  
=
In general, there should be more lymphs than polys in CSF.
There is an important piece of data missing. The percentage of lymphs/polys/etc is meaningless unless it is in context of the clinical picture and the rest of the CSF data, particularly the total WBC count.
If the total WBC count is normal (from lab to lab, varies from <3 to <5 or about there), then you don't even need to look at the percentages. Often, I'll see a report of 1 WBC and a differential is quoted based on fewer than 100 cells spun down in the whole sample! I just ignore the information.