Neurology Community
Inderal v. Lisinopril for essential tremor
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Inderal v. Lisinopril for essential tremor

I am a professional violinist and recently developed an essential tremor in my bow arm which interferes greatly with my playing. My neurologist tried primidone but it has helped only a little. I asked if he could put me on Inderal which I understand can help with essential tremor.

However -- the doctor pointed out that I am already on lisinopril (for hypertension) which, he claimed, ALSO is effective in treating essential tremor.

So the  upshot was that according to him, there was 'no point' in substituting Inderal for the Lisinopril I'm already taking since Lisinopril is JUST AS EFFECTIVE in treating essential tremor as Inderal.

But is this right?? I've read about lisinopril and see no mention whatsoever of its being helpful for essential tremor (Of course I know it's effective for high blood pressure)
Related Discussions
3 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
660872_tn?1238644845
Hi, I can't comment on the Lisinopril.  However, I've been taking Inderal for the last 28 years for essential tremor.  It works very well and I have no side effects.  I take 160 mgs a day in the morning.

Good luck with the shakes.

Chirley
Blank
Hey, thanks arach, I think I'd best be looking for a new neurologist
Blank