Neurology Community
Leg tingling and muscle soreness
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Leg tingling and muscle soreness

Hi,
I am a 34 year old female who is very active - I run about 25-30 miles/week and have completed two marathons and many shorter events. I have been running consistently for 6 years. In November, I woke up one morning to both legs tingling in my lower legs and feet, tight calf muscles and heaviness in both legs. I ran a marathon approximately 1 month prior, but had been resting and easing my way back into running slowly over that month with no problems prior to that morning. I visited my doctor and she did a tuning fork test on my ankles and feet and, for comparison, on my wrists. She said there was a noticeable loss of sensation in my feet. We discussed any changes - I had recently switched brands of insoles in my running shoes and the arches seemed too high so I switched to something less pronounced. Related or not, the tingling slowly faded by the end of January, but no matter how much rest or stretching or massage I get on my calves, the muscles still seem tight and sore.

I was concerned about the tingling because my brother is living with MS and was and continues to be his major symptom - numbness and tingling in arms, legs and face. My doc said she didn't think it would be that because MS rarely presents in both legs simultaneously. But, she took my complaints seriously and said to touch base with her if it returns and she would refer me to a neurologist. The tingling and pain (muscle pain in calves) has returned in the last two days.