Neurology Expert Forum
Neurosarcoidosis
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Fibromyalgia, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Neurosarcoidosis

: In Jan 1997 I was diagnosed with Bell's palsy. Now, Sept 1998, I have just been diagnosed with neurosarcoidosis. I have severe impairment of the 3rd, 5th, 7th, 9th, and 10th cranial nerves on the left side of my face including rather severe hemifacial spasm. Within the last 2 weeks I have experienced 5th and 7th cranial nerve impairment on the right side of my face.I am just beginning treatment. Please try to give me the expected long term prognosis following treatment with high dosage prednisone. Please also let me know of any acknowledged top experts in this field and any research or clinical trials that I might be eligible to participate in. Also, is surgical removal of granulatamous lesions of the brain stem ever an option? Thank you.
  ===========================================================================
  Dear Debra:
  To make a diagnosis of neurosarcoidosis with certainty, the patient's case needs to match one of the following two scenarios:
  1. The presence of typical neurological features of neurosarcoidosis on the background of definite systemic sarcoidosis (usually pulmonary - commonly diagnosed on chest xray, gallium scan, or bronchoscopy, less commonly skin, lymph node, or other, commonly diagnosed by biopsy), or
  2. The demonstration on biopsy of typical sarcoid pathology (non-caseating granuloma) within the nervous system, even in the absence of demonstrable systemic sarcoidosis.