Neurology Expert Forum
Proximal Median Nerve Compression ?
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Fibromyalgia, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Proximal Median Nerve Compression ?

About a year ago I started getting aching pain in both elbows whilst excessively rock climbing. I took a  month off with no pain to get better. After a month I started getting ulnar nerve symptoms in my right hand whilst mouseing (I work in IT) and a general ache in my left elbow. After another few weeks the pain subsided but then whilst leaning back and stretching I felt something "twang" in my right elbow and immediately had median nerve symptoms (tingling/numbness) in my right hand. Again, over a couple of weeks this subsided.

Then I started getting very painfull aching in both my elbows around the flexor/pronator origin whilst typing at work and pain in my wrists. I've been off work for 6 months now and the pain in my wrists has gone but I still have a permanent dull ache in the flexor/pronator region of my left elbow and a sort of tickling/tingling where the median nerve crosses my right elbow.

There is also a lump on my left elbow about the size of a small half egg when by arm is supinated and wrist extended, also a smaller one on my right. An ultrasound showed it is the pronator teres muscle but the doctor says it is normal even though it is much worse on the left and I am sure never used to be there. The left is the most painful as well.