Neurology Expert Forum
TBI and itching.
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Fibromyalgia, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

TBI and itching.

Re: TBI and itching.

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ The Neurology Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by ccf neuro M.D. on May 05, 1997 at 13:33:11:

In Reply to: TBI and itching. posted by FRANK PATE on April 25, 1997 at 19:05:51:

: I am a 55-year-old dentist who did both an oral and maxillofacial surgery residency and later did an orthodontic residency. I also did one year of straight oral pathology residency.
  My and my families' lives came to a complete stop about a year and a half ago when I was struck from behind by a person while I was sitting at a stop light.
  I suffered a severe traumatic brain injury with severe diffuse axsomal injury.
   I did remarkedly well until about six months post the original injury when it was discovered that I had a traumatic aneurysm in the area of the corpus collosum which was where so much of my original injury had focused.
  Since the repair of the aneuysm I have had horrible itching which no one can explain. I have become suicidal twice from that.
  Does all this go on and on?
  I hurt all over, my head hurts, I am weak, confused, off balance and this itching has got me desperate. They tried so many antihiamines that I went into urinary retention and then they tell me well you have about a 30 percent lose of bladder and bowel tone.