Neurology Community
Tremors/Tics - Male Student, Early Twenties
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Tremors/Tics - Male Student, Early Twenties

Hello,

I am a male college student in my early twenties. I have been experiencing facial tics and facial muscle tremors for a few years now. Soon after they began, they got so bad that they began affecting my social life severely and I went to talk to my Internist. Any type of excitement was causing them. Anger, good/bad/fun excitement, regular nervousness...anything that excited my nerves made muscles in my cheeks and mouth tremor and tic severely (sometimes, though not always, it would feel like my muscles were trying to force me to frown – even if I was laughing at something funny). I could feel how bad they were and others began noticing them as well.

My Internist ordered several blood and urine tests and referred me to a Neurologist who had several different blood tests done in addition to the ones my internist ordered. The neurologist also had me do a brain MRI w/contrast. Everything came back normal. After receiving all the results, although they did not specifically come out and tell me this, both doctors clearly came to the conclusion that my symptoms had purely psychological causes and didn't think any further attempts at diagnosis were necessary. As the symptoms appeared during a time when my stress level was above average, I reluctantly accepted the psychological diagnosis and attempted to make changes in my life that allowed more hours of sleep, less stress, and a more relaxed state of mind.