Neurology Expert Forum
White spots in the White matter area of the brain
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Fibromyalgia, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

White spots in the White matter area of the brain

What does it mean when the doctor says they have found white spots in the white matter area of the brain? I still can't find any specific info. on the white matter area of the brain. Also, what are white spots? My neurologist says that she thinks it is fluid built up in the arteries of my brain. I am a little concerned over this, specifically when she states that we should approach this aggresively conservatively. I'm not a doctor here, but fluid and arteries of the brain and whatever white matter does doesn't sound reassuring. Any help would be great!
  Thank you
=
This is a common occurrence.
An MRI of the brain is done on an individual because of some symptoms. It comes back basically normal, except for these "bright spots" and then the question is whether they mean anything.
Usually, the report reads something like this (look yours up and see if it matches closely): "... scattered punctate small hyperintensities in the hemispheric white matter on the T2 weighted images. Consider possibly demyelination, ischemia, or changes associated with migraine. This may also be a variant of normal. Clinical correlation is advised ..."
These bright spots are often a variant of normal, and the interpretation is that there are spaces surrounding some small blood vessels that show up like this on the scan. This is quite common.