Neurology Expert Forum
Will bruised nerve regenerate fully?
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Fibromyalgia, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Will bruised nerve regenerate fully?

5 months ago, I accidentally hit my right upper wrist (forearm) really  very hard on the corner of a piece of furniture.
  I had tingling and numbness afterwards in my 4th and 5th fingers and outer palm and now, 5 months later it's improved somewhat but it's still a bit numb in that area (my 4th and 5th fingers and outer palm).
  I am a professional pianist and this sensation (or lack of full)/  numbness is very distracting when practicing or performing. (I have not experienced a loss of dexterity or strength).
  I did not seek immediate medical help as I thought it to be minor, even though it did hurt like heck when it happened. I did speak to a Dr. on the street who was nice enough to offer a quick diagnosis that I had bruised the nerve and that it would grow back and "bridge the gap".  Enough time has passed that I'm worried it'll never get back to normal.
  Can I expect the nerve to regenerate fully, and the feeling to return 100%? I know it may seem minor, but I am 34 and was looking forward to a long career as a pianist, and this really is truly distracting to the creative process.
  Thank you so much.
==============================================================================