Neurology Community
heel numbness
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

heel numbness

I am a softball player and a jogger. I weigh more than I should, but I'm working on that w/the running. I have been running for a few months now.
Last week Thurs. after the game my left heel (the bottom) started going numb. I know that cleats do not give you much support, so I though it was just from playing so hard w/the cleats. But it's been a week now and it's not going away. When I jogged this week Wed. and Thurs. my whole left foot went numb and tingly. Thurs. night at the game I was physically limping after running the bases and this morning I could not put any weight on it when I got up. It seems a little better now that I'm up and moving, but it's still numb.
I really don't want to take any time off (other than a few days), I'm just starting to get back in shape.
Is it plantar fascists?
Related Discussions
Hello Dear,

Wearing non-supportive footwear on hard, flat surfaces puts abnormal strain on the plantar fascia and can also lead to plantar fasciitis. Most commonly, heel pain is caused by inflammation of the plantar fascia — the tissue along the bottom of your foot that connects your heel bone to your toes. The condition is called plantar fasciitis.