Neurology Community
nerve pain
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

nerve pain

What could you recommend to use for nerve pain other than Lidocaine patches. I have been using the patches with wonderful relief for 2 years and now Aetna says they will only cover them for post hepatice neuralgia. They even denied my doctor's appeal. Two years ago I had laminectomies of L2,L3,L4,L5,S1 after many ESIs and SJIs. I also have my sciatic nerve running through my piraformis muscle. The surgery got rid of most of my back and sciatic pain and I no longer use a walker or wheelchair. However the nerve pain is still there. It feels like boiling water is running down my leg from my hip to mid calf on the outeraspect of my right leg. I also have an almost constant feeling of pin pricks and electric current coursing through that area. Neurotin and Lyrica caused severe paroxysmal dyskinesia (I looked like I had Parkinson's), confusion (I stood in the hall at work pointing my car remote at the office door trying to open the door. I couldn't even tell the person who found me what my name was) and also visual disturbances ( everything had trails and ghosting). But the Lidocaine patches were wonderful. Now they are gone and I feel like crying all the time. Is there any help for me? I can't afford the patches without insurance helping. Is there something else that might help? If it's approved for posthepatic pain why not my kind of pain? It has to be very similar. Any help will be welcome. Karen
Related Discussions
6 Comments Post a Comment
Blank