Neurology Expert Forum
shoulder, arm, hand tingle, ache
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Fibromyalgia, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

shoulder, arm, hand tingle, ache

I worked as a admin assistant until 1 month ago, heavy computer, mouse with right hand.  The problem seems to be progressing even tho I am now on computer less than 1 hour/day.  Several times each week I awake in the night with right arm tingling, often past tingling and nearly numb but deep ache.  Often I am unable to shake it off and can't find a position in which to sleep, arm continues to tingle regardless of position.  I end up out of bed for the rest of the night, sometimes hunching over with chest sort of caved in helps, sometimes not.  
  Often the tingling will start when holding a newspaper to read.  An hour of working the garden results in deep aching for a couple of days.  There is a specific sore spot on both shoulders but more pronounced on right, it is at the top of the shoulder, sort of the "corner", just at the end, about the size of a quarter, also sometimes there is a "line" of soreoness from wrist up the inside of the arm up the entire length.  Also the hand is stiffening, not as limber as the left, thos the left also seems to be stiffening somewhat.  
  I don't seem to be loosing strength, but am loosing ability to do normal activities.
  I am female, age 50.
  What sort of medical expert should I seek?
  thanks for your assistance.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello Jan!!