Nutrition Community
Pica - Adult eating handfuls of dirt constantly
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to nutrition, a balanced diet, calories, cholesterol, diet and disease, food preparation, vegetarian diet, and vitamins and minerals.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Pica - Adult eating handfuls of dirt constantly

I am an adult  of 44 years. I have been eating handfuls and bowls of dirt for 40 years. At first, my sister and I used to take a bowl with a spoon outside and fill the bowl up with dirt, (like cereal). We have never been able to stop.
At night, when my neighbors sleep, I go outside and sit by the flower bed and eat fresh dirt by the handfuls. I crave dirt everyday and its almost like a major addiction. I cannot and will not stop and I want to know why I have such a habit. I crave dirt like I crave cigarettes.
When I drive by construction sites and see piles of dirt, I think to myself, "yum, suppertime." I have no control over it.
What makes this so embarrassing is, I was caught with a mouthful of dirt by my daughter's father and he could not believe I had so much in my mouth and was swallowing it. He says I have a problem but I am perfectly normal, other than that.
However, I don't want to stop eating dirt and the fresher it smells the more I crave it. I do not want members in my community to find out that I have such an abnormal habit but eating dirt releases stress and I dont know what to do. It's even got to the point where I found the freshest dirt and had it delivered to my house and placed in a pile so I could go out and eat it whenever I wanted.
Is me and my sister sickos or what?
Related Discussions
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
PICA - is what that is called. I would talk to your dr about this. You could be anemic. Also there are parasites and bacteria in the dirt that could REALLY HURT YOU!!!!!
Blank