i am a vegetarian and i don't eat gelatin. my mom wants me and my sister to start taking vitamins. i also have very shot gag reflexes so i can not take chewable tablets. so my mom bought gummy vitamins. should i take them and go against my beliefs or refuse to take them?
Are you (or the subject of the question) male or female?
What is your (or the subject of the question) height?
What is your (or the subject of the question) weight (kg or lb)?
If you (or the subject of the question) is under 18, please state your age:
Gelatin is not made from animal anymore because of vegetarians. If you are still not sure read the labels on the bottle; they have to list all ingredients. It is important you take vitamins as a vegetarian because if you are not eating the proper protein combinations, fruit, and vegetables on a daily basis then you are not getting what you need. As a vegan you need Vitamin B12 supplementation because you cannot get that from plant foods.
I am a former vegetarian of 5 years. When I was a vegetarian I was not being very responsible in regards to getting adequate nutrition which caused my thyroid to become imbalanced. I lost 15 pounds in one month, and I didn’t weigh very much to being with. I felt very, very sick and consequently started eating meat again. I still feel that animal abuse is wrong, but you can get meat from local farmers where you know how the animals are treated. If this does not work for you, then you can find pills that come in hard pills form or look for vegetarian gelatin capsules.
As far as the previous response that gelatin is no longer taken from animals. This is completely false. I am a Muslim who does not eat pork and I know that most gelatins come from pork and more rarely beef or fish. Very, Very few things are made with fruit products as gelatin.
One thing I really love about Islam that I haven’t found in other religions is there is a true respect for animals and their treatment. There is also rules governing their slaughter to minimize pain and suffering. So if you decided to eat meat one day you could look for Hilal meat. Its like kosher, but for Muslims.
Sorry, I was mistaken about the gelatin, however, you can get gelatin that comes from plant, or agar so you are able to comply with vegetarian. Please read the labels so you know the ingredients in the food or medicine you take. Best of luck.
From Hollywood stars to your yoga teacher, it seems that everyone swears by a detox diet. But does it actually work? And is it even healthy? Cardiologist and weight loss expert James Beckerman, MD, weighs in
The Content on this Site is presented in a summary fashion, and is intended to be used for educational and entertainment purposes only. It is not intended to be and should not be interpreted as medical advice or a diagnosis of any health or fitness problem, condition or disease; or a recommendation for a specific test, doctor, care provider, procedure, treatment plan, product, or course of action. Med Help International, Inc. is not a medical or healthcare provider and your use of this Site does not create a doctor / patient relationship. We disclaim all responsibility for the professional qualifications and licensing of, and services provided by, any physician or other health providers posting on or otherwise referred to on this Site and/or any Third Party Site. Never disregard the medical advice of your physician or health professional, or delay in seeking such advice, because of something you read on this Site. We offer this Site AS IS and without any warranties. By using this Site you agree to the following Terms and Conditions. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your physician or 911 immediately.