Orthopedics Community
Desperate!!!
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to orthopedics, back pain, bone or joint pain, broken bones, hip or knee replacement, neck and shoulder pain, orthopedic surgery, spinal injury, sports injury, and tennis elbow.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Desperate!!!

I really need some help here, please!!!              I'm a newbie here

I have a doctor who wants to give me 2 surgical procedures,
1. Nucleoplasty (3 L levels) 2. IDET.(4 L Levels) I have trouble walking from time to time ( pain in left buttock ) The majority of my pain is in my lower back! forced to bend down when sneezing, coughing ETC. always in pain, this has been ongoing for 4 years and I am desperate for help. To many symptoms to list. I am back on light duty, awaiting surgery, and am desperate to resolve these ongoing issues. The following, MRI REPORT; 10/15/2007 FROM Rush emergency room.

MRI FINDINGS STATE;

Alignment of the Lumbar spine is unremarkable.
Vertebral body heights are maintained throughout the lumber spine. There is diffuse loss of disk space and normal T2 signal throughout the lumbar spine, particularly at L2/3, L3/4, L4/5. Low T1/T2 signal abnormality near the superior endplate of L4 may be due to a bone island or Schmorl's node. Schmorl's node is noted at the superior endplate of L2. Otherwise, no focal marrow signal abnormalities or enhancing lesions are identified. The conus is at L1. Visualized portion of spinal cord is of normal caliper without focal signal abnormality or enhancing lesion.
T12/L1; no disk herniation, spinal canal or neuroforaminal stenosis.
L1/2; small broad-based disk bulge along with mild ligamentum flavum hypertrophy and facet hypertrophic changes are noted. There is no spinal canal or nueroforaminal stenosis.