Orthopedics Community
Torn labrum... or something else?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to orthopedics, back pain, bone or joint pain, broken bones, hip or knee replacement, neck and shoulder pain, orthopedic surgery, spinal injury, sports injury, and tennis elbow.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Torn labrum... or something else?

I could really use some feed back on this issue.  I have been having problems with my right shoulder for about six months.  At first I just played it of as tendinitis and treated it with ice and Motron (no relief). In May I had an Apt with a highly respected shoulder surgeon the Doctor of course ordered an MRI and did a physical exam. The exam showed a decrease in ROM but no lose of strength and indicated a possible torn labrum. The MRI reported stated Moderate AC arthropy and mild tendonitis of  infraspinatus tendon but no tear of the labrum.  I have been doing PT for 2 months and have not had any real improvement.  My pain has always been in the distal end of my right shoulder blade.  Pain is caused by reaching across my body or down. (pain will travel down my tricep)  Any activity above my head cause a problem along with driving and sitting at a computer.  I also have noticed that something feels loose (for lack of a better term flopping) in the same area.  My chiropractor thought I might have torn my lat. or torn something off of my shoulder blade.  

My Question is would a shoulder MRI picked up an injury to that part of my shoulder blade?  Should I have an MRI of the area before any type of arthroscopy is done or could they find that type of problem with a shoulder arthroscopy?  

Any advice or similar stories would be greatly appreciated.
Related Discussions
-4 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I would suggest haveing the doc order an MRI Arthrogram. This is a test when they inject a contrast die. If there any tears they will see the die leeking through.