Ostomy Community
pain management
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to ostomy, colostomy, diet and nutrition, gastrostomy ileostomy, jejunostomy, ostomy reversal, sex and relationships, stoma, urostomy, and wound care.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

pain management

Hope someone can help us...my husband has a colostomy due to radiation enteritus.  He still gets depressed about it at times but our main concern is the throbbing rectal pain.  He takes Opana ER and OpanaIR but the dr said they may cut back on it.  We are so scared because he has been barely maintaining on the dosages.  Any advice on what to try?
Thank you
6 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
4661782_tn?1362009449
Has your doctor performed a digital rectal examination to rule out other causes of this pain. It may be due to hemmorhoids or other so please ask him to do this as its important.
Blank
I am an ET nurse ,Has your husband had a CT scan or an MRI to rule out an abcess (abscess)? Does he still have his rectum or was it sewn up? Does he have any drainage from his rectum? Does your hospital that you go to have a Cancer care centre with a Pain management team? Our hospital here in Canada has a Palliative care cancer centre with Pain management. It is for all people with cancer not just paliative patients.
Joy
Blank
My husband has a tumor in rectum and we think it was pressing on a nerve, so he is taking gabapentin. It helped him within a couple days of starting. He hasn't had surg yet to remove tumor. He is having chemo to try to shrink it first. We will see if there is pain after surgery. Hopefully not.
Blank
4802459_tn?1359374965