Ovarian Cancer Community
ovarian cancer
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to ovarian cancer, biopsy, chemotherapy, clinical trials, genetics, hysterectomy, immunotherapy, radiation therapy, screening, and staging.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

ovarian cancer

Hello,

I'm new to all this,but I just wanted to hear other peoples experiences with this kind of cancer or anybody that knows somebody with this type.
    My mom found out last year around this time that she had ppc and they narrowed it down to be from ovarian cancer. She developed fluid around her lung and that's how they found it.
     So she did 3 rounds of chemo had surgery to remove her omentum part of her bowels (she already had a hysterectomy about 6 years ago because they detected cervical cancer) then did 3 more rounds of chemo, the cancer never went away but hers numbers went down to the 60's from 2500. She was chemo free for about 5 months, and now her numbers went up to about 170 so the doctor started her on topotecan last tuesday, he said this is incurable and to look at it as a chronic illness,  and she will need chemo for the rest of her life ex: maybe for 2 months and than off for 3months something like that. I do feel she's in good hands we're from the boston, mass area but I've been reading the statistics and the're not good, she has stage 4 ovarian cancer. I just want some feedback please, on the reality.
     Thank you so much for taking the time to read my concerns.
1 Comment
Blank
187666_tn?1331176945
Each person is so different: how she reacts to chemo, how the cancer reacts to chemo and exactly how aggressive any particular cancer cells are. On the plus side, her oncologist seems to think she's doing pretty well, responding to treatment. He's right that in her case (stage 4) it will be an ongoing battle with chemo on a regular basis.