Ovarian Cysts Community
Ovarian Cyst Removal - post-op care and flying after surgery?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to ovarian cysts.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Ovarian Cyst Removal - post-op care and flying after surgery?

The doctor recently found a large ovarian cyst (about 20cm) and it needs to be removed. She has mentioned both laparoscopy and laparotomy. I was told due to the large size of the mass it would be difficult to remove it through laparoscopy but it is not impossible.  Based on what I've seen online, I wonder if she is being too optimistic...

Anyway, I am new to a city and it is not easy to find someone to stay with me after the surgery. How long after the procedures would I need someone to stay with me and when would I be able to get around independently, assuming that I will have a laparotomy? Are there usually many follow-up procedures post-op? How long do I have to wait after the surgery to fly (about 4 hours, direct flight)? It would be much easier if I can fly and get to a place where someone can be there.

Thanks!
Related Discussions
4 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
483733_tn?1326802046
I think you're smart to go into this assuming a laparotomy.  You need to find out how long they plan on keeping you in the hospital.  I'm in Canada and was in for 5 days but I have heard of some in the U.S. heading home next day.  The longer you are in the hospital the better if you are on your own.  After a laporatomy you will not be wanting to walk (except for a bit around the house to break up gas) or do pretty much anything for the first 2 weeks.  Being on your own can work if you prepare food ahead and freeze and get all your prescriptions and meds (including motrin and GasX or Ovol and perhaps some Gravol) purchased beforehand.  I went for half of my staples out at a week and a half and the other half within a week of that.