Pain Management Community
Opana not showing up in urine test
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to pain management, chronic pain, arthritis, back pain, cancer, headaches, movement disorders pain, and muscle pain.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Opana not showing up in urine test

I have been on opana for over two years and am currently taking opana er 30 3x day to control back and neck pain.

I was given a urine test last month which came back negative for opana.  I was given a re-test last week and was told it was also negative for opana.  I have been using this doctor for ten years and this was the first time I have been tested.  His nurse stated it was a new state requirement that opana patients be tested to ensure they are using the drugs.

My doctor stated he would have it tested at the lab as office tests were known to be inaccurate.

I take every dose of my medicine.  I might be off by an hour or so due to not being at home when it was due but I then take it as soon as I return home.

I do not understand why the tests would show I did not have the medicine in my system since I am taking it.  Also it makes a large difference in my pain levels when I take it.

I do not like taking medicine and I especially don't like the way pain medicine makes me feel.  So I take as low a dosage as I can that will give some help with the pain.

Without the opana my pain levels run 6-8.  With the opana er 30 my pain levels are at 3-4.  My doctor has stated on numerous visits I could increase the opana dosage level and decrease my pain level.  But if I increase the opana level it would increase the impact it has on my nervous system and I don't like that.

The opana er 30 keeps my pain at 3-4 while leaving my mind fairly clear.  Higher levels would cloud my mind and keep me sleepy so I will live with pain levels of 3-4 to keep the side effects of opana down.