Pain Management Community
mri results of knees
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to pain management, chronic pain, arthritis, back pain, cancer, headaches, movement disorders pain, and muscle pain.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

mri results of knees

Hi I got my MRI results and I do not understand them of my knees can u tell me in plain english what it means?

left knee
mild chondromalacia patellae
small joint effusion
small popliteal cyst

right knee
myxoid signal in psterior horn of medial meniscus no medial meniscal tear
mild to moderate chondromalacia patella
small joint effusion and baker cyst
healed non ossifying fribroma within distal fermoral metadiaphysis

thanks
jeannine
Related Discussions
547368_tn?1332173665
Hello Littleredhead,

Welcome to our Pain Management Forum. You must have significant pain in your knees....and I am sorry to hear that.

I am not an expert. This is just my personal understanding of your MRI results. Chondromalacia patella is abnormal softening of the cartilage that lies beneath your  kneecap  or it's medical term, patella. It's a common cause of knee pain. Often it is caused by poor alignment of the patella. PT can often help this condition.

Joint effusion is a general medical term which simply put means an abnormal build up of fluid. This often occurs with inflammation, injury and/or arthritic conditions.  

A popliteal cyst is simply a sac filled with normal joint fluid. This should signal your physician that there is something wrong with your knee. Most likely the joint effusion has caused this cyst. It's more commonly called a Baker's Cyst. Cyst's are usually not dangerous or malignant. I have a SI Joint Cyst, actually two that form due to the inflammation in my SI Joints. A surgeon told me they do not remove these unless the SIJ problem is remedied as they only return in chronic cases. This may also be true in your situation.