Parenting Teens (12-17) Community
Why is my 14 almost 15 yr old son so out of control??
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to the challenges of parenting teens (age 12-17), including physical, emotional, and cognitive development, handling peer pressure, activities & sports, choosing a college, and relationships.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Why is my 14 almost 15 yr old son so out of control??

I dont know whats gotten into my son.  I found out he is smoking pot.  Yeah blame the parents, whatever. I have been a single mom (his dad passed) since he was 6.  I work 3 nights a week (i am a nurse) and i found out he has been sneaking out.  So I put an alarm on the house.  Then he started sneaking out of the house out of his 2 story window! So I put a lock on it.  He broke the lock.  He destroys my house by punching holes in the wall when hes mad or throwing dressers over and laundry baskets everywhere when hes mad or you say "no".  I dont know why hes so angry. People blame me (like my boyfriend) for being to "soft" on him or by spoiling him his whole life.  I say ******** on that.  I cant teach him how to be a man.  He wants to cuss in my face and throw 2 year old tantrums.  He recently ran away for 5 days and nobody knew where he was.  I mean he really dosent have it that bad.  I tell him all he has to do is the right things and he can have anything he wants in the world.  I HAVE taken him to a counceller, twice.  First time he walked out.  Second time he walked out (different counceller) and then proceeded to throw rocks at my car until i came outside.  Then lied about it, even though there were gravels all over my windshield wipers and under my hood.  Hes such a jerk to everyone.  Steals, lies.  Never had a problem with him until he hit high school.  And we live in a really nice area.  Has lots of family support, some family dont want to be around him now.  So I am at my wits end.  He thi