Parenting Expert Forum
My 13 year old is smoking
About This Forum:

Questions in the Parenting Forum are being answered by doctors from MindWorks. Topics include: Behavioral Issues - Discipline, Emotional Development, Family Issues, Recreation, School Issues, Social Development

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

My 13 year old is smoking

Not really sure what category this should be under.  My 13 year old is smoking.  I believe that he has been for a while. He told me that he had stopped because i had taken away some privelages, but last night i smelled smoke when i kissed him goodnight. I then smelled his fingers and he was definatley smoking. No question about it.  What do i do? How do you discipline a 13 year old. I am a nurse and he knows the long term as well as short term effects.  I understand all the stuff about being "cool" at this age. I did the same thing.  I just thought that because i dont smoke and he knows the effects that he would not want to do it.  Boy was i wrong.
Related Discussions
521840_tn?1348844371
Hello,
   I agree with you that this is something to take very seriously. The research on teen smoking indicates that they may become addicted faster than adults and can become habitual smokers very quickly. Even a few cigarettes can be enough to trigger cravings, and some researchers have determined that 100 cigarettes is the indication of crossing the line to becoming a smoker.