Pediatric Cardiology Community
Irregular Heart Rate 5 year old
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Pediatric Cardiology.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Irregular Heart Rate 5 year old

I am a nurse so occasionally I will feel my sons pulse listen to his lungs; just do a mini assessment on him to make sure he seems OK.  (I'm not crazy, just hard to turn my nurse brain off when it comes to my family.) I noticed that his pulse seems a little irregular as in maybe a PAC or PVC.  He was also sleeping at this time and I don't know if maybe his heart was just speeding up and slowing down in response to his sleep cycle or what.  He had an ECHO as a newborn because his Pediatrician suspected a heart murmur.  His ECHO was negative and I would assume he would not have developed a heart defect within the last 5 years.  Is it normal and benign for children or anyone for that matter to just have a little irregularity? (I'm not a cardiac or pediatric nurse so.....) Thanks
Related Discussions