Pediatric Transplant Expert Forum
Liver Transplant for a 5 Year Old from Honduras
About This Forum:

Welcome to the Pediatric Transplant Forum! Questions in this forum are being answered by medical professionals from the Transplant Center at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. This forum is for questions and support regarding all pediatric solid-organ transplant issues, including heart, lung, kidney and liver transplantation.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank

Liver Transplant for a 5 Year Old from Honduras

Hello Doctor, my name is Kylie and I am a student from Virginia. I have been partaking in mission trips to Honduras for the past four years and I met a little boy I wanted to ask someone about. I met him in July of 2013. He lives in a remote village in the mountains of Honduras with his single mother. His liver is failing. His stomach is severely swollen, his skin is tinted yellow, and his hair red. I went back this past March to check on him again only to find that his condition is deteriorating. I am in direct contact with his doctor and his mother. They gave me all of his medical history forms and social security information. The doctor concluded that the young boy needs a liver transplant to live. However, they do not have those kinds of resources in Honduras. They only have resources to maintain the new liver after transplantation. Money will not be an issue seeing as plenty of organizations are willing to help them pay, but my question is what can we possibly do to get him the treatment he needs?  I know the fact that he is from a different country and in need of a transplant makes it difficult, but if there is any advice you have for me I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!
1472397_tn?1291257583
Hi KylieRussell1 -