Physical Therapy Expert Forum
Referred pain in elbow/hand
About This Forum:

This is a place to get answers to your personal questions about how physical therapy can help you recover from injuries or lessen pain caused by chronic conditions such as arthritis.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Referred pain in elbow/hand

I had been working out for a few months doing weights twice a week and then had to stop due to twinges in my left elbow/tricep. I thought it was tendonitis but now I am quite sure it was irritation of the ulnar nerve. The pain was not during workouts but rather in the days afterwards when not doing physical activity.

While it wasn't too painful or bothersome I went to a physio to get some advice on when I could start training again. He said it was ulnar nerve compression at the elbow and did some work on my neck. He told me to come back and a couple of days later did some more work on my neck.

Now it is 3 days after the 2nd appointment and everything is much, much worse :-( I have had tingling in my right pinkie/ring finger, and both elbows feel sensitive. It is really depressing.

I called him up and told him and he said to come back in, but after turning a minor problem into a bad one I am apprehensive about any more physio treatment as it could just make the problem worse.

I have done some reading and it may be referred pain from my neck. That is the reason I am having tingling/numbness in my little finger and both elbows are sensitive (to touch or lean on the desk etc). Before the 'treatment' I never had any of these problems, I only had minor twinges in my left elbow!

Please give me some thoughts/help!!! Should I go back and hopefully he can un-do what he has done, or is there a chance he will just make it worse? This guy is supposed to be one of the best physio's in the state :-(