PREGNANCY: AM I PREGNANT
COMMUNITY
unusually late period but negative pregnancy test?
by ktl, Nov 01, 2003
Hi! It's my first time posting--hello everyone!
Just have a question that someone might be able to help with...
Ever since I got married I have had a VERY regular 28 day menstrual cycle--never late, never early.
We are trying to get pregnant, and today I am at least five to six days late for my period.
I did a pregnancy test this morning that came up negative.
How reliable is that result since I usually have such a normal cycle?
I don't have any other symptoms besides frequent urination and butterflies in my stomach that could just be from the excitement of the whole situation.
So I guess my question is whether or not it is "worth it" to take another pregnancy test; if so, when; or, what else could even be the cause of such a delay in my usually predictable period?
Thanks for any comments, etc!
Katie L.
Related Discussions
Member Comments (1882)
by prego23, Nov 01, 2003
hello there,
i would wait a little bit longer then get tested again, a blood test would be more accurate! that way you will know for sure!
when i first got pregnant i went to the dr and got tested every week each of them come back negative then i finally went in for a blood test and found out i was 5 and a half weeks along, a blood test would settle this for sure!
GOOD LUCK!!!
JEN
by chey101, Nov 01, 2003
any kind of stress can delay your period
by CRISSYchris, Nov 02, 2003
In september i waas due to start my cycle on 9/11/03 I did not come on until 9/21/03 I thought I had concived also, so yes just wait it could just be cycle change, or stress.
by shannonSchiller, Nov 02, 2003
You start menst. about 14 days after ovulation, so if you ovulated late this cycle due to stress sickness or just because, your period would come late.  It could also mean your preggo!
by nickncats, Nov 02, 2003