Postpartum Issues
Okay this is going to be long, so I apologize for that. I have two daughters. My oldest is 3 years old and my second is just 7 1/2 weeks old. My first born and I had such a strong relationship. She has endured so much change this past year. We moved off our farm so we could take down our house to build a new one, I got pregnant, went back to work in August (I'm a teacher) and she started to go to daycare. Two months later started at a different daycare, moved into our new house and now has a little sister. She did start to act out a little more with all the change, but since we brought home #2 she hasn't been the same little girl. She is no longer well behaved in public, is very naughty and talks back constantly.  I have had some trouble with postpartum  emotions. My doctor said I don't have postpartum depression, but something has to be wrong with me. I no longer feel like I love my first born. I feel like my brain has replaced the feelings for daughter #1 with #2. This isn't okay and I hate myself for it. I don't know if just being tired with taking care of a newborn has something to do with it, but next week I have planned to leave the baby at daycare, so my oldest and I can have a day together. But, it's not normal or okay that I only want to be around my baby and not my oldest. When I was pregnant I was so scared that I wouldn't have enough love for my second because I cared so deeply for my first and now I feel like that has become reality, but just flipped around. I feel all we do is fight with each other because she is always misbehaving, and I don't want to miss out on having a relationship with her. I honestly don't know what to do. Please, I need some advice, so I don't lose the chance of being close with my daughter.
Cancel
1 Answers
Page 1 of 1
9812003 tn?1452549139