Respiratory Disorders Community
Coughing Mucous
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to lung and respiratory issues, allergies, asthma, bronchitis, colds/flu, chronic cough, COPD, lung abscess, nasal polyps, pleurisy, pneumonia, sarcoidosis, and tuberculosis.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Coughing Mucous

As many others, I have been coughing mucous for about 3 months. Have gone to the doctor and was given antibiotics for sinus infections and flonase. Still coughing. Doctor says it is GERD, gives me reflux medicine, still coughing. Amazingly enough, I sleep through the night; but, it's horrible in the morning.

Opposite of others, the more I drink the more it seems to contribute to the problem. I took many OTC meds for allergies and even take allergy shots. Sometimes, Allegra helps. Sometimes, sodas aggravate the issue making you think it's an acidic issue; but, sometimes, I start hacking for no reason at all.

The only thing I can figure is that something in the environment: air freshener, perfume, deodorant, cologne, lotion from co-workers aggravate the allergies. My husband's deodorant/body wash aggravates the allergies.

I've tried using UV air filters to filter the air even. Nothing seems to help. Any suggestions?

I had 2 endoscopies and both times, the doctors said you have reflux; even though I have very little symptoms of reflux.

Also I do not smoke. They tell me I have asthma; but, neither Advair nor Albuterol inhalers work.

In the past Advair or a nebulizer treatment would fix this; but, this year it just seems unbearable.

This discussion is related to Chronic cough with mucus.