Respiratory Disorders Expert Forum
PPD test
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding lung and respiratory issues. such as: Allergies, Asthma, Bronchitis, Colds - Flu, Chronic Cough, COPD, Cystic Fibrosis, Emphysema, Fibrosis, Lung Abscess, Nasal Polyps, Pleurisy, Pneumonia, Sarcoidosis, Sinusitis, Tuberculosis.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

PPD test

Hi.  Thank you for taking my question.  On Monday 1/24/05 I got a PPD test.  I work in a hospital, although not directly with patients, and we are tested once a year.
     Monday night I noticed redness around the injection site.  I'm not sure when this first occurred.  I noticed it in the shower about 12 hours after test.
     I've never had a redness after having a PPD test before so I assumed it may be positive and became really nervous.  I've had three different nurses look at it and they all said it was negative because there was no induration, maybe a local reaction?  one LPN used the term "blushing"
    It is not really raised.  There's is no hard bump or anything.  It is a red spot about the size of a nickel on my arm at injection site.  It is still here monday, 1/28/05, which I think is kind of long for a local reaction to still be here.
    My questions are:
      1)  Could this possibly be a positive PPD test, with erythema but no induration?   Why is it still here??
      2)  I would like to have the test repeated.  How soon can I safely get one?  I have an appt. with my m.d. on 2/7/05 and I want another one done.  is it safe to get another one so quickly?  and will it have a boost effect (I think that's the right term)  because of the 2 tests being done so close together?  
      Also, assuming it is positive, what is my next step?  am I contagious and putting my family at risk by kissing my
children et cetera?
Please advise.  I'm really worried.  Thank you for your time.
Pan
Related Discussions
251132_tn?1198082422
1.  A
3 Comments
Blank