Respiratory Disorders Community
What is the difference between being diagnosed with IPF and Asbestosis?...
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to lung and respiratory issues, allergies, asthma, bronchitis, colds/flu, chronic cough, COPD, lung abscess, nasal polyps, pleurisy, pneumonia, sarcoidosis, and tuberculosis.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

What is the difference between being diagnosed with IPF and Asbestosis?

I'm a bit new to this chat forum thing.  Just bare with me...

I was diagnosed with Interstitial Pulmonary Fibrosis in March 2006.  I have been on Interferon Gamma 1b (injections 3x week for about 14 months), prednisone (60-80mg every other day), furosemide (40mg daily), potassium (3x day), morphine 60mg long-acting (2x day), morphine 30mg breakthrough (not to exceed 6 pills day), clonazepam (daily), theophylline (300mg 2x day), all the asthma inhalers (albuterol now pro air, combivent and serevent), ambien to help me sleep, diazepam to help with my nerves, flexaril to help with my joint and muscle pain, promethazine for my nausea because I'm on Interferon Gamma 1b, bisacodyl for my constipation from morphine and strattera for my ADD.

Dr's added doxycyline for possible infection in my chest because I had been vomiting, having fevers and diarrhea and wanted me on a course of this for about 2 weeks.  I just recently stopped Interferon Gamma 1b about 2-3 months ago and have been taking Cell Cept 500mg (2x day), which, by the way, has now been increased to 4x day.

MY DIAGNOSIS:  Interstitial Pulmonary Fibrosis and CHF.  I am oxygen dependent, have been on it now for about 2 years.  Quality of life: I feel reduced down to almost nothing.  Attitude:  I've got a zest for life you wouldn't believe, enough for 10 people.  Prognosis:  I believe it's 5 yrs from diagnosis, max.  Correct me if I'm wrong.  2-4 possible ok years and 5 is maxed.