Respiratory Disorders Expert Forum
still having tracheomalacia "problems" at 23 months old
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding lung and respiratory issues. such as: Allergies, Asthma, Bronchitis, Colds - Flu, Chronic Cough, COPD, Cystic Fibrosis, Emphysema, Fibrosis, Lung Abscess, Nasal Polyps, Pleurisy, Pneumonia, Sarcoidosis, Sinusitis, Tuberculosis.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

still having tracheomalacia "problems" at 23 months old

my son is 23 months old, dx tracheomalacia at 2 months old by ENT also severe innominate artery compression of trachea dx at 4 months old upon ct scan of chest.  recently had to change peds dt two er visits with last in may requiring hospitalization for 24 hours. ped kept dxing with asthma, bronchitis, and severe uri but would not prescribe antibiotics.  being a nurse, i knew for a fact my child did not have asthma. switched peds got sent to ped. pulmonologist said def. did not have asthma referred to ped. cardiologist  ekg and echo were clear  did sleep study on july 16 waiting on results til aug 15th.  ent said had enlarged adnoids and reddened voicebox but had so much drainage from severe uri couldnt tell what was for sure causing it.  my son is still having loud breathing, snoring at times when sleeping, and now will pull his legs up to his chest at times when sleeping.  i check his o2 sat and it will be 99% but still feel something still is going on.  what should be my next step if the sleep study comes back normal? should i take him back to the ENT and let him put him under again to do bronchoscope?  i am EXHAUSTED and of course my son won't do the same thing in the office that he does at home so i can show doc.  what happens if he doesn't "outgrow" his tracheomalacia?
Related Discussions
242588_tn?1224275300