STDs Expert Forum
Syphilis: 2 day old exposure, treatment and testing (for positive resul...
About This Forum:

The STD Forum is intended only for questions and support pertaining to sexually transmitted diseases other than HIV/AIDS, including chlamydia, gonorrhea, syphilis, human papillomavirus, genital warts, trichomonas, other vaginal infections, nongonoccal urethritis (NGU), cervicitis, molluscum contagiosum, chancroid, and pelvic inflammatory disease (PID). All questions will be answered by H. Hunter Handsfield, M.D. or Edward W Hook, MD.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

Syphilis: 2 day old exposure, treatment and testing (for positive result)

I work in the adult industry. We're tested every 4 weeks for Gonorrhea, Chlamydia & HIV & every 6 months for syphilis. HPV/HSV testing is optional, (but requested to be every 6 too). The girl who I worked with was brand new to the industry & was tested by the central non-profit clinic, AIM, (aim-med.org) It is, apparently, not required that a negative syphilis test be back or on hand, in order to work, (I am checking into this).
Regardless, my exposure was 3/23. I have stopped working with other people, (they were notified by AIM as well). My questions are, how soon can an accurate positive/negative result be tested? And, since I have a skin rash that develops with Penicillin treatment, are there treatment options that are just as effective, or can/do I qualify for a desensitization procedure, (how long would that take?). Once on antibiotics when will I be able to have sex again?
I have, in remission, guttate Psoriasis.
Related Discussions
300980_tn?1194933000